Friday, December 5, 2014

Shakey Graves - And The War Came - Vinyl Review

Since I've joined Vinyl Me Please I've had the chance to pick up additional records that have been curated by the VMP staff.  I decided to snag the Shakey Graves - And The War Came along with the October pick.

I listened to a few minutes of the songs online before I decided on this particular album.  I didn't want to get it and immediately regret my decision.

Shakey Graves is from Austin, TX.  He has a unique gravely voice.  This album incorporates a few different sounds, you get touches of Alternative, Country, and Rock.  They all fuse together very nicely.  There are three songs on the album that feature Esme Patterson on harmony vocals and it's a really nice sound.  The whole album is solid, but my favorite songs are Family and Genus, Pansy Waltz, and If Not For You.

Grade: B+

A1 This Is The Beginning
A2 Only Son
A3 Dearly Departed*
A4 The Perfect Parts
A5 Hard Wired
A6 Family And Genus
B1 Big Time Nashville Star*
B2 Pansy Waltz
B3 House Of Winston
B4 If Not For You
B5 Call It Heaven*
*Featuring Esme Patterson


Dearly Departed

Live at KEXP

No comments:

Post a Comment

Parks is gorgeous! #tabletopgames #boardgames

via Instagram